9781528714310 - Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
9781528714310 - Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
Back Cover

Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag, Volume IV

A six-volume collection of classic children’s stories. Alcott originally wrote these tales to amuse some of the younger members of her family, and presented them to her nephews and nieces one year as a Christmas present. These lovely little stories are perfect bedtime reading material for children, and are sure to be enjoyed today just as they were when first published.


Additional information


Louisa May Alcott


Read & Co. Children's


Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag


Classic Fiction


Short Stories & Anthologies



9781528714310, 9781528788625

Formats Available




Publication Date

11 October 2019

Dimensions 5.5 × 8.5 in

First published in 1878, this book contains volume IV of “Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag”, a six-volume collection of classic children’s stories by American author Louisa May Alcott (1832 – 1888). Alcott was an American short story writer, novelist, and poet most famous for writing the novel “Little Women”, as well as its sequels “Little Men” and “Jo’s Boys”. She grew up in New England and became associated with numerous notable intellectuals of her time, including Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Henry David Thoreau. Contents include: “Lost in a London Fog”, “The Boys’ Joke, and who got the best of it”, “Roses and Forget-me-nots”, “Old Major”, “What the Girls did”, “Little Neighbors”, “Marjorie’s Three Gifts”, “Patty’s Place”, “The Autobiography of an Omnibus”, “Red Tulips”, and “A Happy Birthday”. This charming collection is perfect for young children and would make for ideal bedtime reading material. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Other books you might like