9781528714327 - Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
9781528714327 - Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag
Back Cover

Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag, Volume V

A six-volume collection of classic children’s stories. Alcott originally wrote these tales to amuse some of the younger members of her family, and presented them to her nephews and nieces one year as a Christmas present. These lovely little stories are perfect bedtime reading material for children, and are sure to be enjoyed today just as they were when first published.


Additional information


Louisa May Alcott


Read & Co. Children's


Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag


Classic Fiction


Short Stories & Anthologies



9781528714327, 9781528788632

Formats Available




Publication Date

11 October 2019

Dimensions 5.5 × 8.5 in

First published in 1879, this book contains volume V of “Aunt Jo’s Scrap-Bag”, a six-volume collection of classic children’s stories by American author Louisa May Alcott (1832 – 1888). Alcott was an American short story writer, novelist, and poet most famous for writing the novel “Little Women”, as well as its sequels “Little Men” and “Jo’s Boys”. She grew up in New England and became associated with numerous notable intellectuals of her time, including Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Henry David Thoreau. The stories include: “Jimmy’s Cruise in the Pinafore”, “Two Little Travellers”, “A Jolly Fourth”, “Seven Black Cats”, “Rosa’s Tale”, “Lunch”, “A Bright Idea”, “How they Camped Out”, “My Little School-Girl”, “What a Shovel Did”, “Clams”, “Kitty’s Cattle Show”, and “What Becomes of the Pins”. This charming collection of classic children’s literature is perfect for young minds and would make for ideal bedtime reading material. Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Other books you might like